Honorary title for former councillor

Honorary title for former councillor


Mayor of Wigan Borough, Cllr Ron Conway, presents Sue Loudon with Honorary Alderman status.

A long-serving councillor who has dedicated her life’s work to improving her local community has been granted one of the highest honours in Wigan Borough.

Former councillor, Sue Loudon has been recognised for her service to the borough with the title of Honorary Alderman.

Wigan Council awarded last year’s mayor with the position at last night’s full council meeting, thanking her for her continued efforts to make Wigan Borough a better place.

Honorary Alderman status is a symbolic position reflecting a person’s dedication to serving the community they live or work in and is reserved for those who have gone above and beyond and Susan will join a select few who have received the prestigious honour.

Speaking about being chosen for the role, Sue Loudon said: “I’m overjoyed to have been given this title and will continue to put effort into Atherleigh and Wigan Borough as a whole and to encourage residents to uphold their part of The Deal and take pride in their borough.”

Sue Loudon formerly represented the Atherleigh ward after being elected in 1994.

Her final working year was spent as Mayor of Wigan Borough, before retiring in May 2016. Whilst Mayor, Sue Loudon raised over £30,000 for her chosen charity, Guide Dogs.

Since then, Sue has continued her work within the community, namely in Westleigh, including the Incredible Edible projects and with members of the Chowbent Chapel in Atherton.

Current Mayor of Wigan Borough, Ron Conway said: “Sue has served the borough for a long time and has worked tirelessly to raise money, open up opportunities and engage with residents. It’s fitting that we recognise her work in this way and I’d like to say thank-you for all she has done and will hopefully continue to do.”

Posted on Friday 21st April 2017

Rate the information on this page

green smiley (good) orange smiley (average) red smiley (poor)

© Wigan Council